If I Reset My iPhone What Will I Lose? How to Restore My iPhone?
iPhone 8 and the iPhone X mobile device have recently emerged as the most sought-after gadget, owing to their enormous range of advanced features, and properties. Apple has released the iPhone X device as a bonus model this season, and its cost is 40% in addition to the iPhone 8 model devices. A few of its brilliant features take account of its new all screen look, hexa-core Apple A11 Bionic processor, extra sensor and connectivity properties, the new augmented reality, etc., for its user's ultimate expediency.
When you are facing a software issue and wish to restore the iPhone device to its factory settings, the most prime concern would be the loss of your data files. The essential query, in this case, is “If I Reset My iPhone What Will I Lose?” & “If all data gets wiped, or just the software“.
In fact, restoration of your device is an extreme measure. You will essentially mislay all your private phone data on factory restoration on your iPhone device. This denotes that in case you still want your data back, there is an acute need on your part to protect this data in advance by storing them all in a different place.
PART 2: Learning to restore my iPhone from a previous back up via iTunes
PART 3: How to restore my iPhone from a previous back up through iMyFone D-Port Pro
PART 1: If I reset my iPhone what will I lose and how to restore my iPhone?
At the outset, devoid of a previous data back up, you will mislay all your valuable data permanently. Performing a restore cleans everything, starting from your contacts, your files, your apps, and the like. If you own a back up already, you can save your mislaid data by just restoring the backup on the iPhone device after it getting wiped.
In the following methods, we can conveniently show you how to restore the given iPhone device from a preceding backup. The procedure is in fact, incredibly simple; there are a small number of ways, by which you solve the query of “if I reset my iPhone what will I lose?”
PART 2: How to restore my iPhone from a previous back up via iTunes
The iTunes technique is the formal technique of restoring any backup. Supposing you have made the recommended back up on iTunes, prior to you factory restoring the iPhone device, you would be required to follow the steps below:
Step 1: Begin by launching iTunes on the PC running on either Mac or Windows and link your device to it via a USB cable.
Step 2: Then tap on the iPhone device icon on the iTunes interface. On the Home Screen, you would see a display of a summary page.
Step 3: On this summary page, tap on the ‘Restore Backup‘ button in the iTunes app. You can locate this under the ‘Backups‘ option, and the ‘Manually Back Up and Restore‘ option at the bottom.
Step 4: Then select a given back up. This will display all the date and timing of the backups. You must proceed to opt for the most up to date. Naturally, if you did wipe your iPhone device due to the experience of software problems, you may have to restore data files from an earlier backup.
Step 5: Tap on ‘Restore‘ and hang around till the iTunes app completes restoration of your back up. Make certain not to unplug the iPhone device for the duration of the restoration.
Having given out a handy way to answer you “if I reset my iPhone what will I lose?” query, we must also warn you of a few disadvantages that accompany this technique. For instance:
- Not be able to restore the media files inside the backup, for example, the songs, which you had previously saved in the storage of iPhone. You will need to put them in later by way of iTunes sync, in case you have bought the music via the iTunes application.
- You may not be requiring the entirety of your data files in the backup, but there is no viable way for restoring it selectively. And you will need to make a restoration of the entire back up.
- On occasion, you may meet with a restore error on trying to restore a given iTunes back up. The iTunes app can be problematic at times.
PART 3: Learning to restore my iPhone from an earlier back up using iMyFone D-Port Pro
The iMyFone D-Port Pro program is a special tool, which can help in creating and restoring backups for the iPhone device. The interesting aspect of this tool is that it lets you build even partial back up folders on your iPhone device.
In this way, you can maintain the safety of your essential information exclusive of taking up an extra amount of storage space on the hard drive. Also, you can restore or extract data from back up folders selectively, which you made already. You can use this program to efficiently answer the issue of “if I reset my iPhone what will I lose?”
Follow the steps below for restoring your iPhone device from a preceding back up by means of the iMyFone D-Port Pro tool:
Step 1: Begin by opening the iMyFone D-Port Pro software on the PC and hit on ‘Restore Backup to Device‘ on the interface of iMyFone D-Port Pro.
Step 2: Then select a backup folder from the displayed back up list of on the PC. Such backup folders can be made from iCloud, iTunes, or the D-Port pro app itself. Inj case you are not able to find your iCloud back up, which you are looking for specifically, click on ‘Download iCloud Backup.‘
Step 3: Subsequent to selecting one, tap on the ‘Next‘ icon.
Step 4: Tap on ‘Restore Full Backup‘. The alternate option would be ‘Restore Partial Backup‘; however, in this scenario, you will need to restore your entire backup.
Step 5: Then join the iPhone device to your computer and hit ‘Next.'
Step 6: Hang around while the program restores your entire backup. Meanwhile, don't unplug the device.
These steps would erase any of hand data files on the iPhone device. Although, there should not be any after you performed your factory restoration.
A few of this method's disadvantages comprise of the following:
- This program is not without charge. You can, however, download its free trial version for using a few of its program features.
- It does not support all kinds of data types on using the ‘Restore Partial backup‘ feature. Most of your important ones, such as WhatsApp data and the other common data types are supported. Thus this won't probably be a concern for you.
It is in fact, true that restoration of your iPhone device will lead you to mislay your entire data files in the query of “if I restore my iPhone what will I lose?” All items will get erased from the iPhone device. There is no cause to be worried, on condition that you are making use of a reliable program for backing up the given data.
The use of iTunes or iCloud can be taken in this instance, but in case you wish for more direct control over the backups, the iMyFone D-Port Pro software is an apt program for use. It is an excellent program, which is compatible with both Mac and Windows.