Your Perfect iPhone PC Suite to transfer iPhone, iPad, iPod data effortlessly, manage & share music/playlist, merge duplicate contacts, etc.

How to Change or Delete iCloud Account from iPhone without Data Loss

24,057

It is not unusual to have multiple iCloud accounts. Now, this is not something that Apple recommends, but you may have multiple iCloud accounts for your own reason. Having many iCloud accounts is not something you can sustain for long, so you will want to delete iCloud account at some point, or change iCloud account.

Apple makes it easy to delete or change the iCloud account, but you should have an idea of why you need to go through this process and how to avoid any issues that you may face because of it later. Also, as you will learn from this article, you can delete your iCloud account without losing any of your data.

First, let us understand why you may need to delete your iCloud account.

There are two very good reasons why you need to change or delete your iCloud account…

Reason #1: You are using the same Apple ID as other members of your family, possibly your parents or a spouse. This happens all the time. So in this case, your calendars, contacts, and other data will get merged, so your parent or spouse will end up getting your iMessages or FaceTime calls. Clearly, you wouldn't want to share everything with your family, so deleting your iCloud account or changing it would make sense.

Reason #2: You are no longer using the email that is attached to your Apple ID. That email is probably inactive or invalid. You can change your email address on the iCloud account, which is a complicated process, or delete the account itself.

Next, let's see how you can delete the iCloud account on your iPhone or iPad…

Deleting your iCloud account is pretty simple. Here's how it is done,

1: Tap on Settings and then tap on iCloud on your iPhone or iPad

delete-icloud-account-1
2: Scroll down till you get the “Sign out” option, tap on it.

delete-icloud-account-2
3: Confirm that you want to sign out.

delete-icloud-account-3
4: Now, you will get an alert – “Delete Account”. So do you want to hold on to all the data on your iPhone or iPad, such as the browser data, contacts, music, videos and so on? Then, tap on the option “Keep on iPhone/iPad.” That's it, that ensures that you will hold on to your data. If you would rather not save any of the data on your iPhone or iPad, tap on the “Delete from My iPhone/iPad” option.

delete-icloud-account-4
5: You will be asked to enter your iCloud password in order to switch off the “Find my iPad/iPhone” option.

delete-icloud-account-5
6: That's it, you iCloud account gets removed from your iPad or iPhone. You will now get a login form on the iCloud page which confirms that you have indeed deleted the iCloud account.

delete-icloud-account-6

Okay, what are the consequences of deleting an iCloud account?

You should have an idea of what to expect when you delete your iCloud account. Here's what happens when you do that.

Had you instead chosen the option “Delete from iPhone/iPad” during the steps listed above, none of the data remains. You will lose everything. All services related to your iCloud get taken away from you.

You won't be able to use any the iCloud drive, documents or for that matter the Photo library. Your contacts, calendars, and email will not be in sync with the iCloud account anymore.

Now, if you had chosen the “Keep on my iPhone / iPad” option while deleting the iCloud account, all the data that was already on your device will remain on it, and the data that was synced to your iCloud account will always be available to you and can be accessed when you add another iCloud account to your iPhone or iPad.

So that's how to delete iCloud account or change iCloud account without losing any of the data from your iPhone or iPad. We hope this information has been useful to you.

You might also like
Comments